Ajike emerged Ose APC chairmanship candidate

The incumbent caretaker chairman of Ose Local government area of Ondo state, Mr Agboola Ajike has emerged as the chairmanship candidate for the All Progressive Congress party from an open election conducted at the party secretariat Ifon the local government headquarters.

He emerged as the preferred candidate by polling nine votes out of the 10 delegates that participated in the election from Irekari axis of the local government where the chairmanship position was zoned to.

Ose local government has three axis, Irekari, Ekamarun, and the central, and four aspirants obtained interest form from Irekari for the position.

Three delegates were selected to participate in the primary election from each of the five wards that made up Irekari, Afo, Idoani with two wards, Idogun, and Imeri.

Meanwhile, five delegates boycotted the election and 10 delegates participated out of which Ajike had nine votes and Mr Babatunji Oshati had one.

Briefing The Hope about the process of the election, the APC chairman of Ose local government, Chief Oladimeji Tenabe explained that leadership of the party in the local government has agreed to zone the chairmanship position to Irekari axis of the local government and allow delegates from the axis to decide who they preferred as a candidate to represent the party for the forthcoming local government election.

His words : ” I will not call it exactly an election because earlier on we had zoned it to Irekari , so it was just Irekari affairs to determine who among the four of them that show interest to represent Ose as the council chairman.
“We called three leaders per ward , some people objected to the process and decided to boycott , so 10 people out of 15 voted, forming the majority and Agboola Ajike had nine votes, and Oshati had one vote.
He therefore enjoined the aggrieved members to allow party supremacy and loyalty to the party to dominate self interest ,adding that as a member of a party they shouldn’t expect party decision to always suit them.
Tenabe however assured of the readiness of the party members regardless of disagreement to work tirelessly to win the chairmanship election comes December 1st 2018.
In his reaction, Ajike appreciated the State governor, Arakurin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu , SAN, for given the caretaker chairmen opportunity to contest.
He expressed readiness to embrace the aggrieved members for the growth of the party, saying they are entitled to express their interests.
He assured the people of the local government of massive development, adding that if elected, he would strive to increase the monthly internally generated revenue from the present N150,000 to about N30million with some new initiatives.
The process was monitored by journalists, officers of the Nigerian Civil Defence Corps and the Nigerian Police, representatives of the Ondo State Independent Electoral Commission, and National Orientation Agency, NOA.

Published by Wonderlady

Journalist, Educationist, Writer, Human Rights Advocate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s